Skip to Content

Department of Physical Therapy

The Department of Physical Therapy has officially moved from San Marcos to the Round Rock Campus.  We are excited about this move and invite you to learn more

For more information, please view our Round Rock- frequently asked questions page.

Student Outcomes Class of 2014 Class of 2015 Class of 2016 Class of 2017
Graduation Rate 100% 100% 100% 98%
Licensure Rate 100% 100% 100% 98%
Employment Rate (within 6 months of licensure) 100% 100% 100% 98%
(updated 05-22-17)

Pura Vida 5k

On Saturday, March 24th, our DPT II's hosted the 2nd Annual Pura Vida 5k Run!  The students raised over $2800 for study abroad and $450 for graduate college scholarships!  Check out some photos from the race here and here!

Welcome Back!  Our DPT students recently returned from Atenas, Costa Rica to participate in a 9 day service learning study abroad program!  You can find more information and photos on our Study Abroad Webpage, Twitter, or Facebook.

Congratulations to Ryan Roessler - First Howdy Scholarship Recipient

The Howdy Scholarship was established in 2017 by two DPT graduates from Texas State University.  Katie Franklin and Kurtis Graves, both former Texas A&M graduates, decided to develop a scholarship to support Aggie students pursuing a degree in physical therapy at Texas State.  The donors chose Ryan Roessler, DPT Class of 2020, as the first recipient.  Scholarships are awarded annually and are based on GPA, APTA membership, and service activities.  Thank you, Katie and Kurtis, for initiating this scholarship and showing how Aggies take care of Aggies!

All Aggies are welcome to donate to the scholarship.  Please contact Dr. Scott Schaffer at for details.

Congratulations to Danielle Petroski who presented the research project "INTERNATOINAL SERVICE LEARNING EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES FOR NEUROLOGIC RESIDENTS" at a national conference: the 2017 Conference for Community Engagement and Healthcare Improvement.

Danielle conducted this research project with Gwen Cariker (Neurologic resident), Steve Spivey and Suzy Okere (faculty members).  Danielle was awarded a $500 scholarship to present at the conference.  This research will also be presented at 2 state and 2 more national conferences this year.  Congrats Danielle!

Learn more about the Study Abroad and Neurologic Residency programs

Congratulations to our SPT 2, Jeff Hebel, for receiving the St. David's Volunteer Scholarship for 2017-2018.  Jeff states, "St. David's is an incredible organization that sets a high standard with its commitment to excellence and with the quality of care it provides those in our community, I am honored to receive this scholarships award and am proud to be able to represent their organization."

Congratulations to the Department of Physical Therapy's 2018 Texas State Doctoral Merit Fellowship Award winners! Left to Right: Paige Pelletier, Jade Keath, Dakota West



Computer Based Testing

The Department of Physical Therapy has recently transitioned to computerized testing.  In many of the classes, faculty will administer quizzes and exams using SofTest from ExamSoft.  SofTest is a high stakes assessment program developed and licensed by ExamSoft that  enables exam takers to securely take examinations downloaded to their own laptop or tablet device.  SofTest can be used on most modern Microsoft Windows and Mac OSX based computers and some tablets (ipad and Windows Surface Pro).  Starting in summer of 2017, all students enrolled in the Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) program will be required to have access to a device that meets the Minimum System Requirements.


Faculty News

Congratulations to

Dr. Janet Bezner, PT, DPT, PhD

for being selected as a

2017 Catherine Worthingham Fellow

of the American Physical Therapy Association

Dr. Bezner joins a distinguished group of colleagues within the

Department of Physical Therapy at Texas State University—

We are so proud of this group!

Dr. Barbara Sanders, PT, PhD

2010 Catherine Worthingham Fellow

Dr. David Greathouse, PT, PhD

2006 Catherine Worthingham Fellow

and the late

Dr. Barbara Melzer, PT, DPT, PhD

2003 Catherine Worthingham Fellow


Dr. Barbara Melzer

In Honor of Dr. Barbara Melzer, PT, PhD, DPT, FAPTA

In honor of our beloved Dr. Barbara Melzer, the College of Health Professions and the Department of Physical Therapy has established a scholarship to honor Dr. Melzer’s contributions to the College, Department of Physical Therapy, and Texas State. This scholarship will provide funds to third year DPT students to support clinical education experiences.  Donations can be made in memory of Dr. Barbara Melzer. Please make checks payable to the Development Foundation and mailed to:

Texas State University Development Foundation
Attn: Donor Services, JCK-480
601 University Drive
San Marcos, TX 78666    


To find out other ways to make a donation, go to this website 



Special Thanks To

The faculty of the Department of Physical Therapy would like to thank the many companies who support our program by their donation of time, money, equipment and support. Thanks to:

3M EMPI, Inc Osborn Medical Corporation
Action Bandage, LLC Exciton Technologies, Inc Regent Medical
Advanced Orthopedic Designs GaitRite, Inc Sage
Allard USA, Inc Healthpoint Seton Hays County Medical
Carolon Heel Lift Center (Kyle, TX)
Carrington Hollister Wound Care Seton Main Hospial
Central Texas Medical Center - SkiL-Care Corporation
Department of Surgery Hydrofera, LLC Smith & Nephew
Chattanooga Group KCI St. David's North Medical
Christus Santa Rosa Lakeway Aquatic Therapy & Center (Austin, TX)
(New Braunfels, TX) Wellness Center Texas Neuro Rehab
Cody Burrough, PT, MSPT Lympha Press USA, LTD Texas PT Specialists
ConvaTec Medical Solutions Travis Medical
DARCO Medical Technologies, Inc University Medical Center a
Davol, Inc Molnlycke Brackenridge, WC
Derma Sciences Orthotic & Prosthetic Wake Pharma US
Dewey Whisenant, MD Technologies, Inc Warm Springs Specialities
Wellsence, USA
Z - Medica



The Doctor of Physical Therapy program at Texas State University is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE), 1111 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, Virginia 22314; telephone: 703-706-3245; email:; website:

If needing to contact the program/institution directly, please call the Department of Physical Therapy at Texas State University 512-716-2652 or email


The American Council of Academic Physical Therapy is an organization of member institutions representing physical therapist education programs accredited by CAPTE.  The purpose of the organization is to represent the academic enterprise of education and professional development of physical therapist leaders with the healthcare team to promote health in our society.  The council serves and leads academic physical therapy by promotion excellence in education, scholarship and research, practice and service to improve the health and wellness of society.