Skip to Content


Diane Merwarth, PT, CWS

Congratulations to Diane Merwarth, PT, CWS, for winning the Ruby Decker Award at the 2009 TPTA Annual Conference in Austin, TX, in October!! 

And in recognition not only of this award but for the many other contributions that Diane has made to Texas State, she was recognized at the 2010 Physical Therapy Awards Event at Texas State on May 6, 2010 with the first Dr. Barbara Sanders Outstanding Service Award!  

Diane, who works at University Medical Center at Brackenridge Hospital in Austin, Texas, is a long time supporter of the Texas State University Physical Therapy Department and is involved in teaching, admissions, and clinical education. 

Thank you for your continued support!!

Pieter Kroon



Pieter Kroon is a physical therapist, a board certified orthopaedic physical therapist, and fellow of the  American Academy of Orthopedic Manual Physical Therapists.

Pieter is a physical therapist at Sports Performance International, a clinic that focuses on evaluation and treatment of endurance athletes. In addition, he is co-owner and program director of the Manual Therapy Institute, an APTA credentialed fellowship program in manual therapy.

Pieter spends countless hours in the classroom providing students with an opportunity to learn from his vast knowledge and experience, and he provides clinical experiences in his practice for our students.

Pieter is married to Theresa and they have 2 sons - Ben and Sammy.

Thanks, Pieter, for all you do, not only for the Texas State Physical Therapy Department, but also for the profession!!


Congratulations to New Clinical Specialists

Dr. Denise Gobert was recognized at the Recognition Ceremony for Clinical Specialists by the American Board of Physical Therapy Specialities, February 8, 2012, in Chicago, IL.  This event was held as the kickoff event for the APTA Combined Sections Meeting 2012. 

Denise was recognized for achieving certification as a Board Certified Neurologic Health Physical Therapist. 

Graduates from Texas State who were recognized included:  Erika Aguilar as a Board Certified Orthopaedic Specialist; James Grace, Board Certified Orthopaedic Specialist; Gregory House, Board Certified Orthopaedic Specialist; Toko Nguyen, Board Certified Sports Physical Therapy Specialist; and Cullen Nigrini, Board Certified Sports Physical Therapy Specialist.  

Congratulations on this tremendous accomplishment!!  The faculty, staff and students of the Department of Physical Therapy are very proud of you!