Skip to Content

College of Health Professions

Welcome to the College of Health Professions

The College of Health Professions prepares students for careers in the healthcare field. Through its professional, technical, clinical and academic programs, the college serves as an advocate for change and improvement in the field of healthcare services. The college also serves as a catalyst to expand and improve public perceptions of healthcare in the community.

Healthcare at Texas State University: Research. Academics. Community.

We Have Big News!

The Departments of Respiratory Care (RC), Physical Therapy (PT), and Communication Disorders (CDIS) have moved from San Marcos to the Round Rock Campus. Communication Disorders (CDIS) 2nd clinic opened in Round Rock on September 1, 2018. We are excited about this move and invite you to learn more. Please click to view the programs' frequently asked questions page for more information.

Willow Hall picture from outside

Dr. IraniDr. Farzan Irani Awarded
NIH Subcontract for Stuttering Project

A team of researchers at The University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) received a two-year, $387,000 grant, from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), to develop technology that will identify brain activity patterns that contribute to stuttering and use that technology to train people how to optimize brain functions. Dr. Farzan Irani, an associate professor of communication disorders at Texas State University, was awarded a subcontract from this NIH grant to study persistent developmental stuttering (PDS).  For more information, please visit (Farzan)

Dr. Ari
Dr. Arzu Ari, RC


   Dr. Arzu Ari
   finds method to help
   patients breathe easier.

   Read the story here.

Sitek 12-5-18
Mary Sitek, M.A.,

Communication Disorders adds
speech-language pathologist to
San Marcos clinic staff

Read the story here

New Leadership & Administration Master's in Nursing

Dr. Rodney Rohde 12-5-18Honorary Professor of International Studies

Dr. Rodney E. Rohde, Professor and Chair of the CLS  Program and Associate Dean for Research was recommended by the Center for International Studies Honorary Professors Naming Committee to be awarded the title of Honorary Professor of International Studies. A total of only 16 faculty received this honor. For more information about Dr. Rohde’s research and teaching, see:

Dr. Valarie Fleming

Presidential Fellow 2017-2018

Dr. Valarie Beavers Fleming, Chair and Associate Professor in the Department of Communication Disorders, College of Health Professions has been selected to serve as the Presidential Fellow for 2017-2018. During this academic year, Dr. Fleming will serve as a member of the President's Cabinet and will work with President Denise M. Trauth on special projects.

Megan Trad, P.h.D., MSRS, RT(T)

   ASRT Award Winner

Megan Trad, P.h.D., MSRS, RT(T) was a highlight during the annual report of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists held during the conference in San Diego. She  was recognized with an award for her publications.


Dr. Rohde
Dr. Rodney E. Rohde,
CLS Professor and Chair


Dr. Rohde speaks about
acute flaccid myelitis (AFM).
Read the story here.

2018 Faculty and Student Research Forum

This year's forum was a great success, featuring an increase in outstanding entries. Thank you, and congratulations to all participants for making this event a showcase of the dedication and skill found throughout all departments in the College of Health Professions. Click to view a list of the winning entries.

Dr. Rodney Rohde
Dr. Rodney E. Rohde, CLS Professor and Chair

Dr. Rodney E. Rohde, Fellow of the Association of Clinical Scientists

Congratulations to Dr. Rodney E. Rohde on becoming a Fellow of the Association of Clinical Scientists.  This is a designation bestowed by the Association of Clinical Scientists upon qualified members.  Fellows must be doctoral scientists who are experts in the education of and/or application of laboratory methods for elucidating, diagnosis, and treatment of human diseases.  The title, FACSc, denotes that the clinical scientists have ongoing specialized professional activities related to clinical expertise, research or teaching experiences, and/or significant advocacy efforts in the field of clinical laboratory science.  Thus, this is a title distinction that may be used behind their signature.   Dr. Rohde now joins this very selective group of only ~200 Fellows nationally.  For more information, please visit

Outstanding Graduate & Doctoral Student Awards 2018

Each year, one outstanding graduate and doctoral student from the Graduate College is selected to represent the College of Health Professions. This year, based upon their outstanding accomplishments, Tiara Flores was selected as the graduate student from the Department of Respiratory Care, and Lina Padegimaite was selected as the doctoral student from the Department of Physical Therapy.

Tiara Flores, RC
Outstanding Graduate Student
Lina Padegimaite, PT
Outstanding Doctoral Student


Outstanding Academic Student Award Winners 2018

Dean's Seminar


Dean's Seminar 2018

Dr. Ruth B. Welborn presented Dr. Alex McLeod with a plaque in recognition of his presentation,
"Cyber-Analytics: Modeling Factors Associated with
Healthcare Data Breaches"



40th Anniversary


In December of 2012, we celebrated the 40th Anniversary of the College of Health Professions.

Click on the 40th Anniversary archives to view some fun facts and photos!